New Year, New Decade

Happy New Year!

January is always a special month for me, not only is it the beginning of a New Year, hence the start of promising New Year’s resolutions, but it is also my birthday month.  Most people believe that a birthday in January is boring and dark due to winter. I disagree! Winter lends itself for either a cozy celebration or a very glamorous one (it’s always more difficult to be glam in the hot & humid summer). Plus, this year I am not making any excuses, I will be turning 30 so it is a big year and the start of a new decade.  To celebrate and kick of the decade, I will be having a big glamorous birthday bash!

You Are Invited…

I am throwing myself a party for the big 3-0. Drumroll please….

My party will be a 1920’s birthday inspired by one of my favorite books turned into movies “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I remember reading this book in my humanities class in high school and immediately falling in love.  Fast forward a few years and a new version of the movie comes out featuring my favorite actor Leonardo DiCaprio and an amazing song by Lana Del Rey! I mean this theme has my name written all over it and I’m going to own it and invite you to see how it all turns out.

mv5bmtkxntk1odcxnl5bml5banbnxkftztcwmdi1otmzoq-_v1_uy1200_cr8406301200_al_thegreatgatsby_1925jacket-jpeg

 

Party Like Gatsby

I don’t live in a mansion or have tons of money to throw a party like Gatsby but I will try my hardest to recreate a modern take of the 20’s. I went through Pinterest boards and Google searches to find my inspiration and begin my plans. The hall is booked. Catering is pending. The decorations are set and invitations have been mailed. Take a look at what and who has inspired me on Pinterest. I look forward to sharing some more of the details with you and the final results!

Leave a Reply

